The Sewergrooves

»Saturday Night, Tonight We`re Gonna Have Some Fun«

10``/ CD 2003

Sounds of Subterrania

SoS 035 / SoS 036

1. Boogie Woman
2. It's alright, why not
3. At my root
4. Self admire suicide
5. Up the line
6. I really love you
7. Sleep fox
8. No time for resignation

More Information Shop

»Trouble Station«

LP / CD 2011

Sounds of Subterrania

SoS 110 / SoS 111

1. Free To Fly Part 1
2. Oh Trouble
3. Twist Of Faith
4. Burning Desire
5. He's The Destroyer
6. One Of Those Things
7. Touch Of Sympathy
8. Keep Moving
9. Heartbeat Shuffle
10. Disagreement Lane
11. Free To Fly Part 2

The Sewergrooves play a brand of soulful rock, that is quite unique in the contemporary musical landscape. 15 years strong, 6 records and what seems like a million 7-inches ? those are the notable facts of their band-history. But there's so much more:
As the scandinavian Rockscene decided to move into stadium-territory and rock the masses, the Sewergrooves took the opposite direction and found their refuge back in the garage. It is exactly this decision that makes their sound stand out.
Of course references such as Thin Lizzy, Stooges and the early Urge Overkill remain, but that's not all. When it comes to the Sewergrooves, you also need to take into account the more delicate sides of Roky Erickson and the like, the morbidity of Love and the energy of MC5. For a total of 2 years the band worked on their new recordings and they prove to have been worth every second it took.
''Trouble Station'' picks up right where the sound of ?Saturday Night, Tonight We're Gonna Have Some Fun? left off.
Songs such as ''Free to fly'' or ''One Of Those Things'' are far more than your average retro-rock tunes.With these songs the Sewergrooves carve their successful endeavour of celebrating a present-day notion of 'Rock' - minus fake pathos ? into stone.
And that is what's characteristic about the Sewergrooves:
''Trouble Station'' stands to prove, that even in the year of 2011, you don't necessarily need to feel ashamed of listening to Hardrock.

More Information Shop

The Sewergrooves - Burning Desire


Vocals, Guitar - Kurt Dr├Ąckes
Guitar - Packe Wahlqvist
Bass - Andreas Broman
Drum - Fredrik Hartelius

Straight from Stockholm "Rock City" here are the Sewergrooves. These disciples of all things heavy pound the graves of The Wipers, early Urge Overkill and Thin Lizzy then proceed to wash it all down with a curdled cocktail of motor city septic tank backwash. But this trip ain't just about ragged ass raw power. The Sewergrooves also dish out ample gobs of both melody and hooks with their thunder. It all started when Kurt was sharing a minimal apartment with Andreas, a guitarist who Kurt knew from Kiruna. They started to make recordings together on Kurt's four-tracker. Kurt began to send the recordings he and Andreas had made around the world. He especially saw to it that Nicke of the Hellacopters got a copy.

Nicke forwarded the tape to the Hellacopters drummer Robban who liked it so much that he phoned Kurt up. The guys all met and The Sewergrooves were born. With the line-up of Kurt on guitar and vocals, Andreas on bass and Robban behind the drums, they signed on for Low Impact Records. Three 7" where released and soon their first album "Songs from The Sewer" (released on license in US by Estrus) was recorded. During this time Hellacopters start to take more time from Robert but they manage to complete the recording of their second album "Guided By Delight" and a final tour. The album contains 12 original songs recorded in Pelle Gunnerfeldt Studios (the same studio as the Hives recorded their album Veni, Vidi, Vicious!). After the tour Robert Eriksson had to leave the band because the Hellacopters finally claimed all of his time. They started the search of a new drummer that could fill in for Robert, but they couldn't seem to find anyone that fit in when they ran into Fredrik Hartelius. Patric "Packe" Wahlqvist (rhythm guitar) also joined the band.