Johnny Notebook


We are happy to announce the collaboration between Johnny Notebook and Sounds of Subterrania! The album will be released on January 20, 2023.

»And The 28th Century Mates«

LP 2023

Sounds of Subterrania

SoS 213

1. Arkanoid TM
2. On The Radio
3. Obsolete Machine
4. 28th Century Mate
5. Video Blog
6. The Network
7. Rate Me Rate Me
8. Dancefloor Queen
9. Call The Shots
10. The Voyage

More Information Shop

Johnny Notebook


Having emerged from the remnants of the bands Dean Dirg, Toyotas, Metric Eyes and Tetallica, the synth-punk duo Johnny Notebook, with roots in Düsseldorf, Wuppertal and Madrid, releases all their pent-up energy at once after almost three years of practicing personal responsibility in the kitchen, hallway and bathroom society free. The result is the energetic, driving sound of the new long player Johnny Notebook and the 28th Century Mates. This is characterized by the Johnny Notebook mix of the danceable beats of the Roland TR505 drum composer, the catchy cadences of the PolyKorg800 synthesizer, recurring hooklines and a ruthlessly nasal but no less melodic head voice. Influences from genre gods like Devo, Screamers and Aviador Dro are still the unmistakable foundation of Johnny Notebook. 28th Century Mates is also enriched by repeated Italo-Disco elements, for example in the form of overlaying synthesizer melodies through to shorter keyboard solos, which makes the sound a bit more positive and light-lived than on previous Johnny Notebook releases. Lyrically, many of the songs address the sometimes absurd interactions between digital and analog reality and oscillate between nostalgia, sarcasm and fatalism, without sounding even remotely melancholy.